The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was set up under the direct charge of the Prime Minister through a Presidential Order on August 3, 1954. As per this order, all businesses of the Government of India, related to Atomic Energy and to the functions of the Central Government under the Atomic Energy Act, 1948 (XXIX of 1948) were directed to be transacted in the Department of Atomic Energy.

    Research and development for the peaceful uses of atomic energy had made important and rapid strides by the year 1958. These developments called for an organisation with full authority to plan and implement the various measures required for the expansion of the atomic energy programme. Accordingly, the Atomic Energy Commission with full executive and financial powers was set up by the Government through a resolution dated March 1, 1958. The Atomic Energy Commission is responsible for formulating the policy of the Department of Atomic Energy.