Government of India Atomic Energy Commission


The Indian Atomic Energy Commission was first setup in August 1948 in the Department of Scientific Research, which was created a few months earlier in June 1948. The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was setup on August 3, 1954 under the direct charge of the Prime Minister through a Presidential Order. Subsequently, in accordance with a Government Resolution dated March 1, 1958, the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) was established in the Department of Atomic Energy. The Prime Minister (late Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru) also laid a copy of this Resolution on the table of the Lok Sabha on March 24, 1958.


According to the Resolution constituting the AEC, the Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Atomic Energy is ex-officio Chairman of the Commission. The other Members of the AEC are appointed for each calendar year on the recommendation of the Chairman, AEC and after approval by the Prime Minster.

Present composition of the AEC is as given below:


K. N. Vyas
Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty 
Secretary to the Government of india
Department of Atomic Energy
& Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
Chairman (ex-officio)
Ajit Kumar Doval NSA Shri Ajit Kumar Doval
National Security Advisor
Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra Principal Secy PMO
Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra
Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister
 Shri rajiv Gauba Shri Rajiv Gauba
Cabinet Secretary
  Shri Vinay Mohan Kwatra
Foreign Secretary
  Dr. T.V. Somanathan
Secretary, Department of Expenditure 
  Shri Talleen Kumar
Member-Finance, ´╗┐Space & Earth Commission
Member for Finance
Dr. M.R. Srinivasan
Chairman, AEC
Prof. P. Rama Rao,
Former Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
Dr. Anil Kakodkar
Former Chairman, AEC
Dr. Ravi B. Grover
Emeritus Professor,
Homi Bhabha National Institute
Dr. K. Kasturirangan
Former Chairman, Space Commission &
Former Member, Planning Commission
Shri Sunil Ganju
Head, Institutional Collaboration and Programs Division, NCPW,  DAE

 Click here to get a glimpse of all Chairpersons of Indian Atomic Energy Commission.